Facebook Now Lets You 'Snooze' Your Friends For 30 Days

Image: AlexVan / Pixabay

Facebook already allows you to unfollow someone while staying friends, if their posts are starting to clog up your feed. But perhaps you just want to shush them for a while, without cutting them out completely. In that case, the social media site has a new feature, just for you, called "Snooze".

Snooze is basically a temporary unfollow, according to Facebook product manager Shruthi Muraleedharan. Once you snooze someone, you won't see anything posted by them for a 30-day period, after which they'll be back on your feed in full force.

The feature works on groups and pages too, if you're getting spammed by an entity other than friends or family.

You might not have access to the Snooze function immediately; Facebook is rolling it out this week. As with unfriending / unfollowing, you'll find snoozing in the top-right menu of a post.

Don't worry -- you can unsnooze at any time and you'll get a warning just before it expires. How useful it'll be is another matter entirely.

[Facebook, via TechCrunch]