How To Watch The 2016 Melbourne Cup, Live And Online And Free

Image: iStock

Want to watch the Melbourne Cup today, but don't have a TV in your office? If you're stuck in front of a desk while the race that stops a nation takes place, here's everything you need to know — from where to watch it online without paying a cent like Twitter, to where it's showing on free-to-air digital TV and Foxtel.

The Melbourne Cup starts at 3PM AEDT (Melbourne time) on Tuesday 1 November. In Sydney, Canberra and Hobart, that time also translates into 3PM, while it's 2PM in Brisbane, 2:30PM in Adelaide and 12PM in Perth.

How To Watch The 2016 Melbourne Cup Live On TV

Coverage will start on Channel Seven, the free-to-air digital TV network that will be broadcasting the Melbourne Cup for free, from about 10AM in the morning until well after the race itself has run.

If you have Foxtel, you'll be able to watch along on Sky Sports, Sky Racing 1 and Racing.com — which also broadcasts on free-to-air digital in some areas.

How To Watch The 2016 Melbourne Cup Live Online

The best place to follow along with the Cup online in real time is Twitter — to do that, point your phone or Web browser to melbournecup.twitter.com, or click here. You can also watch along on the Channel Seven website, which will be live streaming the race here.

A lot of the bookmaking websites also have live streaming options too, although you'll probably need to have an account or possibly even place a bet to gain access.

How To Watch The 2016 Melbourne Cup Live On Mobile

On your phone, your best choice is through Twitter, through the PLUS7 app for iOS and Android, or through the Foxtel Go app if you're a Foxtel subscriber with the appropriate sports package included on your plan.

If you're not in Australia when the Melbourne Cup is running, we can't guarantee that any of these options will work. Foxtel and Channel Seven's streaming options, in particular, will almost certainly be geo-restricted.

Trending Stories Right Now