Tesla Motors Website And Twitter Accounts Hacked

The Elon Musk-owned Telsa Motors might be on the cutting-edge of vehicle technology, but the company should probably give its web security the same level of attention. Earlier this morning, the Twitter accounts for Telsa as well as Musk himself were hacked, along with the car manufacturer's website.

Everything's back to normal now, but according to TechCrunch's Greg Kumparak, the Twitter accounts and site were breached around 2PM PST (7AM AEST). Apparently the hacking victory was claimed in the name of "Autismsquad", though the company Twitter name was changed to "#RIPPRGANG", so make of that what you will.

The site was quickly brought down, though Kumparak reports it proceeded to reappear "multiple times" in its hacked state. The company's Twitter account was reclaimed sometime before 3PM PST (8AM AEST).

A thread on Reddit contains reports that Musk's personal account was also hacked around 3:45PM PST — here's a screencap of that (via Business Insider):

The accounts spammed offers of free Teslas, though somehow I don't think the hackers would have been able to follow through.

[TechCrunch]

Images: inspir0nd and Kenazo, via Reddit

Trending Stories Right Now