NBN Sets First Copper Network Switch-Off Date

Many of us are hanging out for the day when the National Broadband Network (NBN) first becomes available in our areas, but the network has just passed a different milestone: it has set a switch-off date for the copper network in those locations where NBN fibre is already well-established.

An 18-month countdown to switch-off commences on November 23 2012, which gives a final date of May 23, 2014. On that date, copper services passing approximately 25,000 premises will be switched off. You won't be forced to connect to the NBN if you don't want to, but you won't be able to stick with the copper status quo in those areas. There are plenty of choices for NBN providers.

For reference, these are the main areas affected and the number of premises that have been passed. Self-evidently, this doesn't cover every household in those locations: if the NBN hasn't been connected in your street and you live in one of these towns, the 18-month cut-off won't apply.

Location Premises passed
Armidale NSW 5400
Brunswick Vic 2900
Deloraine Tas 1300
George Town Tas 2300
Kiama NSW 2400
Kingston Beach Tas 1000
Sorell Tas 1300
South Morang Vic 2300
St Helens Tas 2200
Townsville Qld 2900
Triabunna Tas 500
Willunga SA 1100

Trending Stories Right Now