Snapchat Automatically Sets Your Sexts To Self-Destruct Within 10 Seconds

The safest way to avoid anything embarrassing escaping into the open is to not take them at all. But if you can't help yourself, you should be armed with the proper tools to practise safe sexting. Snapchat is an iPhone app which will automatically delete picture messages you send to friends seconds after they view it.

According to the description, you can set the app to eradicate itself anywhere from 1-10 seconds after the recipient views it. If they try and capture a screenshot, the app will alert you, but it isn't clear if it actually prevents people from saving the screenshot. And as the New York Times points out, there's nothing stopping someone from taking a photo of their screen (besides having an actual life). Still though, it's better than nothing, I suppose. [iTunes via NY Times]