In 1911, two teams -- one from Norway and one from Britain -- vied to become the first to reach the South Pole. Led by Roald Amundsen, the Norwegian team won the race, while all five members of Robert Falcon Scott's Terra Nova Expedition perished on the return journey home. New research suggests Amundsen's team may have benefited from an early start, taking advantage of an unusually warm Antarctic summer.