You’d be hard pressed to find someone who hasn’t accidentally sent a message to the wrong person in Facebook Messenger. Sometimes it’s even something embarrassing, confidential or bitchy. You know what I’m talking about.
Facebook is finally introducing a solution to these proverbial heart-attack inducing moments – and unsend message feature. This is how it works.
According to an App Store note for Messenger, an upcoming update will provide users with the ability to remove messages within 10 minutes after they are sent.
“Coming soon: Remove a message from a chat thread after it’s been sent. If you accidentally send the wrong photo, incorrect information, or message the wrong thread, you can easily correct it by removing the message within 10 minutes of sending it.”
This is a good complimentary feature for the secret conversation option that Messenger already offers users.
At the time of writing there was no time frame attached to when this change will be implemented or what it will look like in execution.
Regardless, I’m definitely looking forward to it. Hopefully this means we can all avoid a few embarrassing moments in the future, especially if you catch the erroneously sent message right away.