Watch Tonight's Huawei's Mate 20 Pro Event Right Here

Image: WinFuture

After first announcing the Mate 20 at IFA last month (and throwing some serious shade at Apple on Twitter), the time has almost come for it to finally be unveiled. And as it happens, you can watch all the action right here.

Unlike most recent phone events, this one is taking place in London. This means that time difference is a little friendlier for us Aussies. Things will kick off on October 17 at 12:00am AEDT, 11:30pm ACDT, 11PM AEST, 10:30pm ACST and 9pm AWST.

The rumour mill has been going into over-drive with this one and it kind of feels like we may already know what we're going to see when it comes to the Mate 20 Pro in particular. Various leaks have stated that in addition to the confirmed Kirin 980 chipset, it will have a 6.3-inch AMOLED panel, 6GB of RAM, 128GB storage option and run on Android Pie.

The First Huawei Mate 20 Pro Images Have Leaked

Last month a render gave us our first look at what could be the new Huawei Mate 20. Now we may be looking at the Mate 20 Pro for the first time ahead of its October 16 launch in London.

Read more

There have also been whispers of a 4,200mAh battery with wireless charging, which is a step up from the P20 series which only allowed wired.

Alleged leaked images of the Mate 20 Pro also lack a rear or front fingerprint scanner, leading some to believe that it will have either an on-screen scanner (like the Porsche Design Mate RS does) or replicate Apple's by doubling down on facial recognition technology.

Fortunately, we don't have long to wait to find out if any of this is true, and to find out what the regular Mate 20 will have under the hood. Keep an eye on the site after the event for all the news, and watch along with us below.

Huawei Announces Mate 20 Phone With Upgraded Chipset

After Honor’s CEO George Zhao let the proverbial cat out of the bag at its launch yesterday, Huawei has now officially announced its new chipset at IFA, the Kirin 980.

But that's not all.

It's been less than six months since the release of the P20 series, but Huawei is already planning it's next big thing, the Mate 20 which is launching in London on October 16.

Read more

Trending Stories Right Now