NBN Update: Here Are The Suburbs (Probably) Getting FTTdp

NBN Update: Here Are The Suburbs (Probably) Getting FTTdp

42 Australian suburbs earmarked to receive the “Fibre to the distribution point” (FTTdp) version of NBN have been revealed.

[related title=”More Stories on NBN” tag=”NBN” items=”5″]

As reported by IT News, almost 450,000 premises are included in the areas.

  • Botany
  • Burwood
  • Como
  • Cronulla
  • Dural
  • Edensor Park
  • Frenchs Forest
  • Guildford
  • Homebush
  • Hornsby
  • Hunters Hill
  • Kogarah
  • Miranda
  • Mona Vale
  • Orchard Hill
  • Peakhurst
  • Ramsgate
  • Revesby
  • Rockdale
  • Silverwater
  • Springwood
  • Altona
  • Coburg
  • Chelsea
  • Dandenong
  • Epping
  • Fawkner
  • Frankston
  • Footscray
  • Heidelberg
  • Lilydale
  • Laverton
  • Mount Eliza
  • Montrose
  • North Esssendon
  • Newport
  • Richmond
  • Seaford
  • Thomastown
  • Bundamba
  • Brassall
  • Ipswich

In April last year lobby group Internet Australia called for Fibre to the Node (FTTN) to be abandoned in favour of FTTdp after the revelation of new, lower cost, optical fibre used in FTTdp trials – and survey results that showed 80 per cent of Internet Australia members were dissatisfied with the mixed-technology method (MTM).

Nestled in between FTTN and Fibre to the Premises (FTTP) in speed, cost and complexity, it promises to be cheaper than FTTP, faster than FTTN and equally quick to roll out.