WhatsApp betrayed its long standing commitment to privacy when the company announced the app will now share user data with Facebook for the purpose of selling ads. But existing users have only 30 days to opt out.
Here’s how you do it.
Then simply toggle the green switch off to opt out:
If you missed the early warning message, don’t worry. There’s still another way to opt out. Go to Settings > Account > Share my account info, then simply uncheck the box:
That’s it! Facebook won’t share the full list of things it will be collecting from WhatsApp, so it’s probably a good idea to opt out.