Here Are The Winners Of The 2015 James Tiptree Jr. Award

Here Are The Winners Of The 2015 James Tiptree Jr. Award

The James Tiptree Jr. Awards were handed out earlier this week, designed to honour science fiction or fantasy works that “expands or explores our understanding of gender.”

Here’s the award recipients:

  • “The New Mother” by Eugene Fischer (Asimov’s Science Fiction, April/May 2015)
  • Lizard Radio by Pat Schmatz (Candlewick, 2015)

The award committee also unveiled their complete honours list:

  • Susan Jane Bigelow, “Sarah’s Child” (Strange Horizons, 19 May 2014)
  • Nino Cipri, “The Shape of My Name” (, 2015)
  • Carola Dibbell, The Only Ones (Two Dollar Radio, 2015)
  • Matt Fraction (writer) and Christian Ward (artist), ODY-C, Vol. 1: Off to Far Ithicaa (Image, 2015)
  • Alex Marshall, A Crown for Cold Silver (Orbit, 2015)
  • Seanan McGuire, “Each to Each” (Lightspeed, June 2014,Women Destroy Science Fiction!)
  • A Merc Rustad, “How to Become a Robot in 12 Easy Steps” (Scigentasy, March 2014)
  • Ian Sales, All That Outer Space Allows (Whippleshield, 2015)
  • Taneka Stotts and Sfé Monster, editors, Beyond: The Queer Sci-Fi and Fantasy Comic Anthology (Beyond Press, 2015)
  • Rebecca Sugar (creator and executive producer), Steven Universe (Cartoon Network, 2013-15)
  • Catherynne M. Valente, Radiance (Tor, 2015)

You can read the entire list, complete with some commentary on the James Tiptree Jr. Award site.

[James Tiptree Jr. Literary Award]