Watch SpaceX Try To Land A Rocket On A Drone Ship [Update: It's A No-Go]

Watch SpaceX Try to Land a Rocket on a Drone Ship (Update: It's a No-Go)

Third time's a charm. After one near miss resulting in a disastrous but honestly pretty cool explosion and another delay from some gusty winds, SpaceX is going to try to land the first stage of its Falcon 9 rocket on a remote drone ship beginning at 4.33pm EDT (6.33am AEST).

Right now, we're looking at a 60 per cent chance of good weather for the launch, and if they once again get the no-go, the robotic Dragon capsule -- designated CRS-6 and carrying nearly two tonnes of equipment (including an espresso maker fittingly called the ISSpresso -- will try again tomorrow at 4.10pm EDT (6.10am AEST).

Through the power of the internet, you'll once again be able to livestream the event right here and be able to either a) stare at a launch pad b) watch another awesome explosion c) witness space exploration history. Two out of three ain't bad for a Monday afternoon.

Update: The launch was cancelled a few minutes before schedule because of encroaching storm clouds. SpaceX will give it another go tomorrow at 4.10pm EDT (6.10am AEST).

Trending Stories Right Now