Bad news: the “copyright notice” you’ve been reading (and sharing, ugh) is completely bogus and a waste of everyone’s time. Facebook owns everything you upload, and that’s not going to change just because you say so.
But here’s something you can do that might actually make a difference.
When you signed up for Facebook, an event so far back in the recesses of your memory that there is no Timeline capable of containing it, you agreed to Facebook’s Terms of Service (ToS). These are the rules you agree to play by so long as you use Facebook, period. They’re Facebook’s rules. Facebook is in charge. Odds are you didn’t bother reading the ToS before you signed up, because Facebook was new and exciting and who ever reads that stuff anyone? No one does.
Half a decade or so later, we’re still bound by those rules — and that means that, despite all the hoaxes floating around today that might tell you otherwise, Facebook owns your profile and everything you put on it. And you can’t opt out, ever, because you agreed to this:
(I’ll bold the important parts)
Your Content and Information
You own all of the content and information you post on Facebook, and you can control how it is shared through your privacy and application settings. In addition:
For content that is covered by intellectual property rights, like photos and videos (IP content), you specifically give us the following permission, subject to your privacy and application settings: you grant us a non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide licence to use any IP content that you post on or in connection with Facebook (IP licence). This IP licence ends when you delete your IP content or your account unless your content has been shared with others, and they have not deleted it.
When you delete IP content, it is deleted in a manner similar to emptying the recycle bin on a computer. However, you understand that removed content may persist in backup copies for a reasonable period of time (but will not be available to others).
In short: if you upload a photo, Facebook is 100%, completely allowed to use it (or sell it) until you delete that photo or delete your account. Unless that photo exists on someone else’s account (maybe you posted it there!), in which case Facebook still owns it. Unless that person deletes it. Unless someone else shares it from there.
But those rules aren’t written in stone. Instead of posting pointless copyright notices, to your timeline, try something that might actually get something done. Say you don’t want the photos you take of your private life to be owned by a corporation, with shareholders whose interests aren’t yours. Say you object specifically to Section 2.1 of the Facebook ToS:
The photos, videos, thoughts, and all other intellectual property I create should remain mine unless I tell Facebook they can own it. Facebook should remove section 2.1 from its Terms of Service, terminating its “non-exclusive, transferable, sub-licensable, royalty-free, worldwide licence to use any IP content that you post.” Short of this, I should be allowed to opt-out of this agreement with Facebook.
Ask your friends to like and comment (or even share) if they agree.
Or better yet, send it to Facebook customer service.
It’s a longshot, but at the very least you’ll be sharing a sentiment that’s not pure misinformation and naïveté. Sharing fake copyright BS is an annoyance. Sharing a sincere grievance isn’t. But remember: until anything changes, Facebook will own the text of your grievance in full.