Twitter Suffers Widespread, Sporadic Outage

Twitter Suffers Widespread, Sporadic Outage

Twitter has been suffering a widespread but sporadic outage during the early hours of tonight.

The problems started at around 7:20pm AEDT (3:20am EST), with error messages claiming that the network is both “over capacity” and suffering an “internal error” both on desktop and mobile. Twitter confirmed the outage, even managing to tweet about the issue, and has been working to fix the problem.

However, the site’s service seems to be flickering on and off, with some customers receiving the same service as ever, while others panic and have to, well, do whatever you do when Twitter doesn’t work.

We’ll keep you posted about Twitter’s status and what went wrong.

Update 11:23pm AEST (07:23am EST): Almost four hours after the first reports of failure, Twitter is yet to announce a full fix and Down Detector still shows that people are reporting outages.

[Twitter Status Blog]

Have you subscribed to Gizmodo Australia's email newsletter? You can also follow us on Facebook, Twitter, Instagram and YouTube.

Trending Stories Right Now